I live with Madam Muck

Posted: November 29, 2010 in Trying to be a good parent !

All is cool in Diddyland.

No major wobbles.

I have noticed from blogging that my life goes up and down depending on my emotional status. I am mildly suicidal and then I am fine. Then I am gnashing at my wrists again and…..then I am fine again. I am in fine mode at the moment.

My ups and downs relate directly to my emotions.

I got plenty of sleep this weekend. By default I might add. I kept on falling asleep around 9pm each night. Must be November-itis. I’m just plain old tired.

I am battling abit with my 11 year old. I am not sure if it is a stage she is going through or if her behaviour is a by-product of my bad parenting.

I do recall my own mother saying “Who do you think you are, Madam Muck?”

I can only assume Daughter Dear is going through her “Madam Muck” stage….

She pretty much hates me right now. I am the dog poo on her life shoe. She thinks I’m dumb. She thinks I don’t understand her. She back chats me all the time and thinks she knows better. Most things turn into an argument or a battle of wills. From bathing her body, to eating, to feeding fish, to doing homework, finding socks, washing the bath, bedtime, getting up time, cellphone useage, where we sit at the movies (I pre-booked the new Harry Potter movie for us, but got hell because I chose the wrong seats where madam didn’t want to sit)…… Everything is met with distain. Rolling of the eyes and huffing. And walking with floppy, I-dont-care-footsteps and the James Dean lip sneer that Elvis would be jealous of.

I am trying to be understanding and discipline her at the same time. I don’t believe in smacking.  

My good friend google says:

Be prepared to use all your “patience” skills if caring for children this age, as they tend to think that they do not need any adult care or supervision. Yet, when they are left to care for themselves, they are lonely, unhappy, and sometimes frightened.


SOCIAL AND EMOTIONAL DEVELOPMENT

  • begins to see parents and authority figures as fallible human beings  (ha ! And Mom Diddy will be picked out and shamed for this one !)
  • rituals, rules, secret codes, and made-up languages are common
  • enjoys being a member of a club (does boarding school count as a club ? This could be organised.)
  • increased interest in competitive sports
  • outbursts of anger are less frequent
  • may belittle or defy adult authority  (I need a percentage here. Will defy adult authority 95% of the time ? Is 95% normal ?)

 

I don’t know if I should let Madam Muck get away with so much. But all I know is ….. I don’t want her to have the same childhood as me where I was overly disciplined !

Leave a comment